A world-class university committed to scholarly excellence

UoN management signs performance contract with Council

Send by email
The Council Chairperson (ag.), Mrs. Pascalia Koske and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, Production and Extension, Prof. Lucy Irungu.

The University of Nairobi Executive Board has signed a performance contract with the University’s Council.

Speaking during the signing ceremony, the Council Chairperson (ag.), Mrs. Pascalia Koske, noted that the performance contract has been negotiated in a manner that resonates with the public expectations, demonstrates progressive achievement of Vision 2030 Medium Term II targets, benchmarks with international best practices and is fully aligned to the University budget.

“The University is in the process of cascading the performance contract to the various levels,” she said. “I call on all the members of staff responsible for the implementation of the performance contract at different levels to carry out their duties with due diligence and commitment so that the University maintains its excellence performance as it has been in the past”

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Peter Mbithi, noted that the university units had matured over time in managing the performance contract process to a point where it is now institutionalized. Prof. Mbithi said that the government has put emphasis on indicators picked from the Medium Term Plan II (MTP II) of Kenya’s Vision 2030 while also focusing more on the outcomes and not processes.

“For the universities’ performance contracts, great attention has been given to performance indicators geared towards delivering Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) sector,” he added.

The financial year 2016/2017 performance contract  puts emphasis on allocation of 30% of the procurement budget dedicated to the youth, women and people with disabilities and 40% of all procurement budget dedicated to locally produced goods and services.

At the ceremony, the Council witnessed the signing of the performance contracts between the Vice-Chancellor and the Deputy Vice-Chancellors and the College Principals.

Download pdf