Saturday, August 20, 2022

From L to R: Mr. Samuel Kiiru, Alison Kariuki, UoN VC Prof. Kiama,
UoN Chancellor, Dr. Vijoo Rattansi, Chair of Council, Prof. Miriam Were
and Charles O.Ogolo 


The   University of Nairobi Chancellor Dr.  Vijoo Ratansi hosted the newly appointed Council for an induction meeting on 19th August, 2022.

The  Chancellor  congratulated   the Chairperson Prof. Miriam Were and the other new members of the  Council  on their  appointment  and wished  them  noble  stewardship  tasks  in executing  their  function  that lies ahead.

During the meeting, the Chairperson and the new members familiarized themselves with the operations of the University as well all as the conduct and management of council business.

In her speech, Dr. Rattansi urged the council members to discharge their duties with high standards saying she has high expectations of performance at University of Nairobi.

“Make your decision based on evidence, let your decisions be humane and grounded on the Constitution and the law stand for right, even when least desirable keep on the straight and narrow and maintain high moral standards,” the Chancellor said.

Dr. Rattansi also advised the council to maintain unity of purpose as they steer the University for greatness from where their predecessors left.

“Always strive for consensus or a common understanding of issues, respect the opinion of your peers, even if not the most popular. Always remember the unitary nature of Council decisions unity on the final decisions is essential.

On her part, the new Council Chair Prof. Miriam Were said she was glad to be appointed to serve the University of Nairobi, her alma matter having graduated as a doctor from the institution.

She promised to work together with the new members and the UoN management to ensure that UoN remains an academic giant in the region and the world at large.

Present during the induction meeting were:-

·         Dr.  Vijoo Ratansi- The Chancellor

·         Prof. Stephen Kiama Gitahi, PhD-Vice-Chancellor & Council Secretary

·         Prof. Miriam Khamadi Were EBS, IOM-Chairperson of Council

·         Darius Mogaka Ogutu –Member

·         Samuel Kiiru - Member

·         Alison I.N.Kariuki - Member

·         CPA. Charles O.Ogolo - Member

·         CPA. Flora Mtuweta Mighulo Maghanga – Member

·         Brian Ouma – Chief Operations Officer.

·         Collins Omondi- Director of Legal and Corporate Secretariat

The  University community looks  forward   to working  with  the  Council towards  a  brighter  future  for  the  institution so that  it can  continue to   embody  the collective  aspirations  of  Kenyan people  and global  community.