UNIVERSITY OF NAIROBI

A world-class university committed to scholarly excellence

SONU Election Timelines

Send by email
Electoral Commission (SONU 2014)
 
 
No - Task Name - Duration - Start
 
1 - Dissolution of SONU Parliament - 1 - March 11th 2014
 
2 - 1st meeting of Electoral Commission - 1 day - Thursday 13th March 2014
 
3 - Submission of specimen signature for all commissioners - 1 day –
Friday 14th March 2014
 
4 - Submission of nominal roll by Deans/Directors and Chief Halls Officer
  Monday - 17th March 2014
 
5 - Circulation of election rules and regulations and Civic education – 1 day - Tuesday 18th March 2014
 
6 - Collection of nomination papers and Code of Conduct from the Electoral
Commission - 2 days - Thursday, 20th March 2014, Friday 21st March 2014
 
7 - Return of nomination papers and duly signed forms and code of conduct to respective staff and student commissioners at their respective campus -
2 days - Thursday 27th March 2014, Friday 28th March 2014
 
8 - Staff Commissioners submit duly signed nomination papers and code of conduct to the Electoral Commission - Saturday 29th March, 2014
 
9 - Announcement and Publication of successfully nominated candidates -   
Monday 31st March, 2014
 
10 - Publication of names of returning officers, Presiding officers and
Clerks - Tuesday 1st April 2014
 
11 - Official Campaigns begin - 7 days - Thursday 3rd April 2014
 
12 - Submission of list of agents for each candidate to the staff commissioner for accreditation - 1 days - Friday 4th April, 2014
 
13 - Debate for Executive seats - 1 day - Tuesday, 8th April, 2014
 
14 - Campaigns end at 6.00 p.m. Wednesday 9th April, 2013
 
15 - SONU ELECTION DAY - 8.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m.
Counting, tallying and announcement of results - 1 day - Friday 11th
April, 2014
 
16 - Counting, tallying and announcement of results - Friday 11/12th April
2014
 
17 - Swearing in by Chief Legal Officer - Saturday 12st April 2014
 
18 - Submission of petitions - Saturday 12th to Monday 14th April 2014
 
19 Issuance of certificates -  To be announced
 
 
 
PROF. S. G. KIAMA
CHAIRMAN
SONU ELECTORAL COMMISSION